2017-18 Committee Chairs



Chair: Amanda W. Barnett
Staff: Sue Garrett
Responsible for fiscal year budget and oversees management of all LBF funds in accordance with the investment policy. Recommends policies to govern the investment and management of funds to the Board of Directors. Works with the Investment Manager and Auditor. The treasurer serves as chair of this committee.


Chair: Christopher K. Ralston
Staff: Dennette L. Young

Works with Communications Department and the LBF Secretary to educate the public, lawyers and judges about the community service of lawyers in order to improve the public perception and opinion of lawyers.


Chair: Christopher K. Ralston
Staff: Laura C. Sewell

Works with Board and Development Department to provide funding for the annual operations budget, major gifts, special projects and endowment; recommend policies governing development activities to the Board; and identify and cultivate relationships with foundations, corporations, individuals and other potential supporters.


Chair: Professor Russell Jones
Staff: Dennette L. Young
Board Liasion: Mike Mestayer

Focuses on promoting study and research in the field of law, the diffusion of knowledge thereof, and the continuing education of lawyers. Oversight of the Oral Histories Project, Scholar-in-Residence Program (publication and distribution of addresses, reports, treatises and other literary works on legal subjects) and the Legal Archive (acquisition, preservation and exhibition of rare books, documents, art, and other items of significant historical interest to the legal community and general public.


Chair: Valerie Briggs Bargas
Staff: Donna C. Cuneo

Composed of LBF Officers and the Executive Director.


Chair: E. Jane Sherman
Staff: Donna C. Cuneo

Ensures the effective and equitable governance of the Foundation by conducting evaluation of relevant procedures and making recommendations to the Board of Directors and Fellowship regarding warranted amendments to the Foundations Bylaws and Articles of Incorporation.


Chair: Amanda W. Barnett 
Staff: Renee LeBeouf

Chaired by Treasurer. Reviews grant applications and makes recommendations to the Board with respect to the disbursement of funds received by the Foundation through the IOLTA Program, as implemented by Order of the LA Supreme Court. Studies and recommends policies regarding standards by which applications are to be measured and funding decisions are to be made in compliance with the Order.

Kids' Chance

Chairs: Michelle Sorrells and Sherry Watters
Staff: Dennette L. Young
Board Liasion: Kerry A. Murphy

Oversight of the Kids' Chance Program created to provide educational scholarships to the children of workers who have been seriously, catastrophically, or fatally injured in a work related accident.

Nominating Committee

Chair: Valerie Briggs Bargas
Staff: Donna C. Cuneo

Recommends Fellows for vacancies on the board.

Special Designees

Access to Justice, TBA
Community Action, Alainna R. Mire

The Louisiana Bar Foundation is a non-profit 501(c)(3) entity organized under the state of Louisiana.