Home Page

The Louisiana Bar Foundation

Advancing Equal Justice and law-related education through Fellowship

2016-17 Board of Directors

E. Jane Sherman (2011-2017)
Phelps Dunbar LLP

A resident of Baton Rouge, Sherman is a Charter Fellow of the Foundation, having begun in 1987 while serving as Chair of the Young Lawyers Section of the Louisiana State Bar Association. She is a Senior Counsel in Phelps Dunbar LLP's Baton Rouge office. Her practice has focused on expropriation, utility and real estate related law with Phelps Dunbar and with Mangham, Hardy, Rolfs & Abadie and she now provides legal counsel and representation to various corporate entities, both non-profit and commercial. She received her BA and JD degrees from Louisiana State University.

Phelps Dunbar LLP
II City Plaza
400 Convention Street, Suite 1100
Baton Rouge, LA 70802
Phone: 225-376-0236 (office)
Phone: 225-755-1453 (home)
Fax: 225-381-9197

Vice President
Valerie Briggs Bargas (2012-2018)
Kinchen, Walker, Bienvenu, Bargas, Reed & Helm, LLC

Bargas is a founding member of Kinchen, Walker, Bienvenu, Bargas, Reed & Helm, LLC. Her practice is focused on insurance defense (bad faith, coverage, & personal injury) and general casualty defense. She received her BA in Environmental Science and Policy from Smith College and her J.D. from Tulane University Law School.

Kinchen, Walker, Bienvenu, Bargas & Reed, LLC
9456 Jefferson Hwy, Ste. F
Baton Rouge, LA 70808
Phone: 225-292-6704
Fax: 225-292-6705

W. Michael Street (2013-2019)
Watson, McMillin, & Street

Street is a partner of Watson, McMillin, & Street in Monroe. His practice is focused on construction law, employment law, medical malpractice, real estate and general litigation. He received BA's in Philosophy and in Political Science from Centenary College of Louisiana. He received his JD from LSU Paul M. Hebert Law Center.

Watson, McMillin & Harrison LLP
1881 Hudson Circle
Monroe, LA 71201
Phone: 318-322-9700
Fax: 318-324-0809

Amanda W. Barnett(2013-2020)
Red River Bank

Barnett is General Counsel and Corporate Secretary for Red River Bank and Red River Bancshares, Inc., with corporate offices in Alexandria. Prior to joining the bank, Ms. Barnett was with Gold, Weems, Sues, Bruser & Rundell where her practice focused on general corporate law and commercial litigation. She has a B.A. in English Literature from Newcomb College of Tulane University, and a J.D. from Louisiana State University.

Red River Bank
1412 Centre Court Drive, Suite 502
Alexandria, LA 71301
Phone: 318-561-5028
Fax: 318-561-5002

Immediate Past President (permanent ex-officio)
H. Minor Pipes III (2010-2016)
Barrasso, Usdin, Kupperman, Freeman &
Sarver, LLC

Pipes is a founding member of Barrasso Usdin Kupperman Freeman & Sarver, LLC in New Orleans. He provides counsel in construction law, general litigation, corporate litigation, insurance coverage, bad faith insurance defense and class action litigation. He received his BA from Pennsylvania State University and his JD from LSU Paul M. Hebert Law Center.

Barrasso, Usdin, Kupperman, Freeman & Sarver, LLC
909 Poydras Street, Suite 2400
New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone: 504-589-9700
Fax: 504-589-9701

Charles C. "Chuck" Bourque, Jr. (2015-2018)
St. Martin, Williams & Bourque
4084 Highway 311
Houma, LA 70360
Phone: 985-876-3891
Fax: 985-851-6455

Karleen J. Green (2014-2017)
Phelps Dunbar, LLP
400 Convention Street, Suite 1100
Baton Rouge, LA 70802
Phone: 225-346-0285
Fax: 225-381-9197

H. Dunbar Healy (2016-2019)
Fidelis Marine, LTD
2235 N. Highway 190
Covington, LA 70433
Phone: 985-898-5300
Fax: 985-898-5322

Rebekah R. Huggins (2014-2017)
Glenn Armentor Law Corporation
300 Stewart Street
Lafayette, LA 70501
Phone: 337-233-1471
Fax: 337-233-5655

Michael J. Mestayer, APLC (2016-2019)
1100 Poydras Street, Suite 2785
New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone: 504-522-7360
Fax: 504-522-7356

Julie M. Lafargue (2015-2018)
Abrams & Lafargue, LLC
330 Marshall Street, Suite 1020
Shreveport, LA 71101
Phone: 318-222-9100
Fax: 318-222-9191

Harry J. "Skip" Philips, Jr.(2015-2018)
Taylor, Porter, Brooks & Phillips, LLP
451 Florida Street, Floor 8
Baton Rouge, LA 70801
Phone: 225-387-3221
Fax: 225-346-8049

Christopher K. Ralston (2014-2017)
Phelps Dunbar, LLP
365 Canal Street, Suite 2000
New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone: 504-584-9358
Fax: 504-568-9130

Shayna L. Sonnier (2016-2019)
Hunter, Hunter & Sonnier, LLC
1807 Lake Street
Lake Charles, LA 70601
Phone: 337-436-1600
Fax: 337-439-2505

LSBA President (2015-2018)
Darrel J. Papillion

Walters, Papillion, Thomas, Cullens LLC
12345 Perkins Road, Building 1
Baton Rouge, LA 70810
Phone: 225-236-3636
Fax: 225-236-3650

LSBA President-Elect (2016-2019)
Dona Kay Renegar

Huval, Veazey, Felder & Renegar, LLC
2 Flagg Place
Lafayette, LA 70508
Phone: 337-234-5350
Fax: 337-234-5310

LSBA Immediate Past President (2014-2017)
Mark A. Cunningham

Jones Walker LLP
201 St. Charles Avenue, Floor 50
New Orleans, LA 70170
Phone: 504-582-8536
Fax: 504-582-8583

LSBA House of Delegates Representative (2016-2019)
Deidre Deculus Robert

Assistant Attorney General
Louisiana Department of Justice
P.O. Box 94005
Baton Rouge, LA 70804
Phone: 225-326-6355
Fax: 225-326-6491

LSBA Access to Justice Committee

LSBA Young Lawyers Section Designee (2016-2017)
Erin O'Brien Braud

GuideOne Insurance Company
650 Poydras Street, Suite 1400
New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone: 504-799-2550

Member-at-Large Designee (2016-2017)
Tina Crawford White

Gordon, Arata, McCollam, Duplantis & Eagan
201 St. Charles Avenue, 40th Floor
New Orleans, LA 70170
Phone: 504-582-1111
Fax: 504-582-1121

Judicial District Judges Association Designee(2015-2018)
Hon. John Davidson
9th Judicial District Court
P.O. Box 1431
Alexandria, LA 71309
Phone: 318-443-6893, ext. 2818

LBF Geographical Appointment (2014-2016)
Louisiana Bar Foundation  |  1615 Poydras Street, Suite 1000  |  New Orleans, LA 70112  |  Phone: 504.561.1046  |  Fax: 504.566.1926